1989 Bermuda One-Two Results

Singlehanded skippers raced from Newport to Bermuda, started Saturday, June XX, 1987.   The race back from Bermuda to Newport, started Saturday, June XX, was doublehanded.

    Singlehanded Leg
    Doublehanded Leg
    Perpetual Trophy Award Winners
    Scratch Sheet

Ancient Mariner: Highlight, Ken Eperon, Peterborough, Ontario

Cruising World Trophy (presented to first elapsed time in fleet - single handed): Skipjack, Hank Halsted

US Navy Seamanship Trophy (for outstanding seamanship): Freedom, Steve Pettengill - for repairs to damaged rudder and rudder post after collision with a whale

Best Combined Total Elapsed Time:

Governor's Award (Rhode Island Entry with Best Elapsed Time): Freedom, Steve Pettengill

Ocean Navigator Awaard (best navigational performance; skipper who showed most navigational enthusiasm): Spirit, Ted Singsen

Tom Gamon Award (skipper who persisted and pursued against all odds): Zafu, Bill and Hemmie Gilmore - dismasted in Gulf Stream